Department of Zoology

The Department of Zoology was established in the year 1982 with the efforts of Thiru C. Radhakrishnan, the first Head of the Department. Government of Tamil Nadu was permitted to start Undergraduate course in Zoology both Tamil Medium and English medium with sanctioned strength of 25 each and appointed eight faculty members. The PG course in Zoology was started during November, 2012 under the Leadership of present HOD Dr.R.Kannan. The department was granted permission to start M. Phil., and Ph. D., programmes from this academic year 2015-2016.

The Department conducted various association functions in different years. Socioeconomic project on mushroom cultivation, Uppanar river water quality research project and vermicompost - student project were the highlighted fields of event in the department. National Seminar on Applied Zoology, Conference on biosafety and food security and National conference on public health and hygiene were organized by the Department. The Department took key role in the Internal quality Assurance cell for obtaining B Grade to the College from NAAC since the Co-ordinator in the Department.

Name of the Faculty Designation
Dr. R. Kannan Assistant Professor and Head
Dr G. Chinnadurai Assistant Professor
Dr. S. P. Vinotha Assistant Professor
Dr. K. Aruldoss Assistant Professor
Dr. R. Rajakumar Assistant Professor
Ms. M. Gnanambigai Assistant Professor
Dr. S. Aruljothiselvi Assistant Professor
Dr. R. Periyanayagi Assistant Professor
Dr. M. Muniyan Associate Professor
Dr.M.Prakash Assistant Professor
Dr.G.Manimegala Assistant Professor
Dr. J.Michael Antony Prabhu Arachi Assistant Professor
Dr.P.Senthil Elango Assistant Professor